Monday, June 15, 2015

D’Utama Toastmasters Club turns 30!

DUtama Toastmasters Club turns 30!

There was no way that we were going to let our club’s 30th anniversary pass by without a celebration so we got a committee cracking their heads together to make this celebration happen.

D’Utama Toastmasters Club, thus was to celebrate its 30th anniversary and installation dinner at Boathouse Restaurant & Bar located along the famed pub street in Taman Tun Dr Ismail. The chef-owner of Boathouse and recently published author of the recipe book entitled Meatology published by MPH, Chef Yenni Law has been running the restaurant for over 11 years and known to D’Utama Toastmasters Club for some time. She had prepared a menu specially for this celebration.

And the theme was “Tropicalia”. Think beach, coconut trees and grass skirts.

The event was graced by the presence of several VIPS: the current District 51 Lieutenant-General for Education & Training, Sue Ding who is also the incoming District Director for the term 2015/2016; current Area D4 Governor for the term 2014/2015, Leong SooQi; current Division B Governor for the term 2014/2015, Lim Thian Seng, Incoming Division B Director for the term 2015/2016, Teoh Chun Ming (also the club’s Past President); Incoming Division D Director for the term 2015/2016, G. Sivalingam (also the club’s Past President).

Past Club Presidents were also present, namely; Allen Kam, G. Subra, Lee Wei Seong, Steven Lai, Johnson Yike, Nancy Liew, Hoo Sze Ling, and Gan Teong Hock.

Gan Teong Hock took the lead as the Game Master, ensuring that we were entertained during dinner. Enlisting the past presidents, current president as well as the incoming president, he elicited 3 pieces of information (or secrets!) from them each and subsequently made everyone guess the presidents based on the information he read out later. We could not have guessed the person based on the information given!

And we could not have excluded the Best Dressed Male and Female award for the night. These were the top 3 singled out for this category.

Best Dressed Male
Ryan Tang
Jason Lee
Chan Yew Choong

Best Dressed Female
Yvonne Yon
Tanya Tan
Jo Chung

It’s not easy to walk away as the Best Dressed! You have to earn it! All six contestants were made to walk from the first floor using the stairs and all the way to the designated stage. Some had a modest routine while some certainly knew how to rock a runway!

As is tradition, we also presented the Toastmaster of the Year (TOY) award at every installation event. This year’s award recipient is Choong Voon Kwong in recognition of his contributions to the club.

We had the incoming District Director, Sue Ding as the installation officer to install the Exco for the term 2015/2016:

1.  President-Elect          :          Jack Ng
2.  VPE-Elect                  :          Chan Yew Choong
3.  VPM-Elect                  :          VK Choong
4.  VPPR-Elect               :          Chee Fong Hoe
5.  Secretary-Elect         :          Jason Lee
6.  Treasurer-Elect         :          Argustin Mok
7.   SAA-Elect                :          Lee Boon Wei
8.   IPP                           :          Henry Fu

Committee Member Ryan Tang was also installed.

Incoming Club President, Jack Ng delivered his speech right after the installation. He revealed his theme for the next term which is “No Mountain Is Too High”. He related how he faced numerous personal challenges over the last term but was able to overcome them in the end.

He relayed his vision for the club for next term which was to raise RM5000 for the club finances, and strengthening the bond among members. Funds raised would go towards activities to be conducted next term to build relationship amongst members. We certainly all liked the sound of that! Jack has also announced that the club would achieve the 10 out of 10 DCP goals by end of March 2016. A tough feat, some may say this to be but given our club’s track record of having achieved 10 out of 10 DCP points and President’s Distinguished Club for more than 10 consecutive years, we would surely have no problem supporting our Incoming President’s vision and mission for the club in the next term!

It was an intimate and lively dinner for all of us that night, decked in our beachwear and fun Toastmasters spirit!

A snapshot of the menu for the night - Two thumbs up!

D’Utama Toastmasters Club
30th Anniversary
Installation Dinner
13th June 2015

Salad Nicoise
-French beans, anchovies, olives, tuna, French vinaigrette

Hor D’oeuvres (cold)
-Mediterranean clam meat
-Jelly fish bites on oyster shells

Hor D’oeuvres (hot)
-Baked Creamy Eggs with ham and mushrooms
-Thyme pork coins

Spaghetti Aglio Olio Fungi
Slow baked Holland Belly Ribs with homemade barbeque sauce
Grilled Mint Lamb marinated in homemade mint sauce
Mac & Cheese baked with ham and bacon
Red Wine Veggies
Beer Battered Onion Rings

Jamaican Bread & Butter Pudding infused with rum marinated raisins

Cake-cutting by Incoming President, Jack Ng; Incoming District Director, Sue Ding and Outgoing President, Henry Fu

Pose for a picture!

Incoming Vice-President Membership, Choong Voon Kwong gets the Toastmaster of the Year award for his contributions!

The 3 lucky draw winners who get to go home with Chef Yenni Law's recipe book, "Meatology" published by MPH

Incoming President, Jack Ng delivers his presidential speech

The final 3 for Best Dressed Male and Female for the night

Here are some of the videos taken during that night!

D'Utama TMC 30th Anniversary: Incoming President's Speech

D'Utama TMC 30th Anniversary: Incoming President's Speech

D'Utama TMC 30th Anniversary: Cake Cutting session

Till next year!

Hoo Sze Ling, ACB
Immediate Past President 2014/2015

No comments: